Classic Brownies

It’s been so long since I last baked brownies. I love their chewy, fudgey, and chocolatey-ness, but I messed up too many times to try again, until last week when I baked these of course. And I’m glad I did! oh Dorie, you never disappoint with your crowd-pleasing recipes. These brownies were definately delicious even in their classic-ness. I underbaked mine just a little because I’ve had way too many occasions where I burnt things. These had a really rich chocolate taste from the mixture of both bittersweet and unsweetened chocolate. These were gooey (but a bit too gooey because I underbaked them, next time I will stick to suggested baking time) and fudgey. They had a thin crispy layer on top which made them visually appealing. I had a blast baking these too! It was so easy and clean-up was minimum because it’s a one-bowl recipe! The only hard part was chopping the chocolate, I guess I was using the wrong knife but my chocolate wouldn’t chop up into chunks, they kept breaking! But other than that, get  into your kitchen now and make these brownies!

With only less than a month of high school left to go, I’m feeling a scared, excited, nostalgic, and hopeful. My grad year was not the best academically and I’m ready to start fresh after the summer. I don’t know what university will have in store for me, but I’m feeling optimistic. I’m gonna miss high school a lot, and I will be taking a piece of it with me. During these five years, I have learned and grown so much. I started out as a timid and insecure 12 year old; I’m no longer that person. I’m so glad I broke out of my shell, otherwise I would’ve missed out on a lot of experiences.

Classic Brownies
Adapted from Dorie Greenspan, Baking From My Home to Yours

Ingredients:

5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into 5 pieces (I used salted)
3 ounces bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped
¾ sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
¼ teaspoon salt
2/3 cup flour

How-To:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Line a square baking pan with buttered foil and then place the pan on a baking sheet. (Dorie said to use an 8 inch baking pan)

3. Set a heatproof bowl in a saucepan of simmering water. Put the butter and chocolates in the bowl and stir occasionally until they are just melted. Remove the bowl from the pan.

4. Using a whisk, whisk in the sugar. At this point, your smooth mixture might become grainy, but don’t worry bout it. One by one, add in the eggs and vanilla.

5. This is a very important step: give your brownies a VIGOROUS whisking.

6. Now stir in the flour and salt until JUST incorporated.

7. Scrape the batter with a rubber spatula into the prepared pan and smooth the top.

8. Bake the brownies for 30-33 mins (I baked mine for 25 mins ish) or until a toothpick inserted into the brownies comes out clean.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Classic Brownies

  1. [...] 1 batch nestle tollhouse ccc’s 1 batch dorie greenspan’s classic brownies  [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 413 other followers

