Black Magic Cake

I have read so much about this cake! I just had to try the other night, especially since I had some leftover ganache from the zebra cake. Who wouldn’t drool at the thought of chocolate cake with white and dark chocoalte ganache? *drooolllss*

I’m a chocoholic. And I need help. I dream chocolate, eat chocolate and think chocolate. But hey, at least I took the first step to facing my problem. The first step is always admitting you have a problem =P

I made this cake around 2 weeks ago and I have been dreaming about it since. I made it around the time I “put my foot down” to my dieting goal, so I cut it up and gave it all away. Yepp, every little bit of it. Ok, I lied. I had a QUARTER of the cake to myself. Yea, you can say it, I’m a fatass. I usually don’t share my food (the cookie monster never shares!), so I was very proud of myself when I put down the plate of cake in front of my friends and walked away. Phew, that was TOUGH.

Anyways, I guess I don’t need to explain anymore bout how AWESOME this cake was right? Yenno what, I think you need some more convincing =P

Ok, so this cake was moist, chocolatey and very decadent. The ganache wasn’t heavy at all, so it didn’t overpower the cake itself. Best chocolate cake I’ve ever made! I think the coffee really made a difference.

I couldn't wait for it to cool! My patience is lacking =P So even though I knew the ganache would slip off, I was too excited to try out the design to wait!

Black Magic Cake
source: Hershey’s

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk or sour milk*
  • 1 cup strong black coffee OR 2 teaspoons powdered instant coffee plus 1 cup boiling water
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • GANACHE recipe below
How – To:
1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour two 9-inch round baking pans or one 13x9x2-inch baking pan.

2. Stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt in large bowl. Add eggs, buttermilk, coffee, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed of mixer 2 minutes (Batter will be thin). Pour batter evenly into prepared pans.

3. Bake 30 to 35 minutes for round pans, 35 to 40 minutes for rectangular pan or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans to wire racks. Cool completely. Frost as desired. Yields 10 to 12 servings.

* To sour milk: Use 1 tablespoon white vinegar plus milk to equal 1 cup.

White Chocolate Ganache
  • 2 oz white chocolate
  • 1 1/2 cup heavy cream
Boil the heavy cream then pour it over the chocolate. Stir slowly til all the chocolate is melted.
*as for the dark chocolate ganache, I don’t remember how much of each ingredient I used, but any ganache recipe will do.*
Tagged , ,

10 thoughts on “Black Magic Cake

  1. [...] For the cake: 1 batch of this recipe. [...]

  2. [...] batch of Hershey’s Black Magic Cake [...]

  3. [...] Chocolate cupcakes 1 batch of your favourite chocolate cupcakes, we used this recipe  [...]

  4. [...] Chocolate Cake, batter separated into 2 equal portions, baked in 8inch pan [...]

  5. [...] recipe for chocolate cake Fresh strawberries, sliced and 14 unsliced Whipped cream filling Dark chocolate [...]

  6. [...] Cake 1/2 recipe for black magic cake, baked in a 10in round cake pan. Cool completely before layering [...]

  7. […] cake consists of 3 layers of my favourite chocolate cake, but changed up a bit with EXTRA coffee (to bring out the chocolate flavour). Between the layers is […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 345 other followers

