What was supposed to be a green tea cake…

So making a green tea was on my list for quite a while now. Now I’m not a big fan of green tea, but I already knew exactly who to make it for because I have a friend who ADORES green tea and his birthday was awhile back.

The cake was pretty basic except for the fact that it called for matcha powder. Matcha is just ground up green tea for those who need a definition, I had no idea what that word meant either. Matcha, green tea. I just don’t see the connection.

But anyway, so I looked all over Vancouver for some matcha powder. Well I guess I didn’t go ALL OVER Vancouver, otherwise I would have found some!  I gave up so I went to Famous Foods and just  picked up a can of vanilla flavored matcha powder since that was the ONLY (this time I’m not exaggerating) place I saw anything that close to the real deal.

When I went home that day, I whipped up the cake with my fingers crossed. I really hoped the powder would work. But luck was not on my side that day. The cake didn’t even have a hint of green tea flavor even though I added more matcha than was called for in the recipe! The cake didn’t even come out green!

HOWEVER, it was the BEST vanilla cake I have ever tasted. It was light and moist and it had a great vanilla flavor. I think I have to credit the yogurt :)

“Green Tea Cake”
Source: All Recipes

Ingredients
1 cup AP flour
1 cup cake flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
4 tsp matcha powder (I added six!)
1 1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 cup veggie oil
3 eggs
1 cup plain yogurt
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

How To

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour cake pans.
  2. Sift together the all-purpose flour, cake flour, baking soda, salt, and green tea powder; set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, beat together sugar, oil, and eggs until smooth. Stir in 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla. Beat in the flour mixture alternately with the yogurt, mixing just until incorporated. Pour batter into prepared pans.
  4. Bake in the preheated oven for 30 to 40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Cool on wire rack for 30 minutes before turning out of the pans.
Tagged ,

One thought on “What was supposed to be a green tea cake…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

