<12 Days of Cookies – Pecan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

I wanted to do 12 days of cookies but I my exams didn’t finish early enough. Darn. Seeing all those delicious cookies oh other blogs makes me really really really want to have a 12 day cookie party of my own. boohoo :(

Well yenno what? I’ll just have a <12 days of cookies. Yepp. Ok, I’ve decided. T’is what I shall do.

I baked these cowboy cookies this morning and BOY WERE THEY GOOD. When I sunk my teeth into one (ok maybe 7) of them, I fell in love. See usually my cookies suck because I don’t have the patience to follow all the directions. Who actually beats their butter on high for exactly 3 mins until it resembles a smooth creamy texture? Too many details, too much trouble, I just want my cookies assapppp.

But I was tired of eating less than amazing cookies, so I followed the directions to a tee this time. And boy am I glad I did. These are SO good. If you like chewy cookies loaded with lotsa stuff like I do, then please please try these. These just might have taken the spot of favourite cookie in my book :)

I got these from Brown Eyed Baker’s blog which I frequently check out daily. She called these cowboy cookies, but I since I made them without coconut I felt the cookies would be lying to carry the same title. Here’s the recipe!

Pecan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
source: Brown Eyed Baker

Ingredients
(I made half of this recipe and got about 2 dozen cookies)
(How did you half an egg you might ask, I just whisked one egg in a bowl, poured it into a measure cup and used half of what I got)

3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 tablespoon baking soda
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon (I used 1 tsp because I didn’t know overpowering the cinnamon would be)
1 teaspoon salt
1½ cups (3 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1½ cups granulated sugar
1½ cups packed light brown sugar
3 large eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla
3 cups semisweet chocolate chips
3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
2 cups sweetened, flaked coconut (I omitted)
2 cups (8 ounces) chopped pecans

How-To

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; set aside.

3. In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter on medium speed until smooth and creamy, about 2 minutes. Gradually beat in the sugars and continue to beat until light and fluffy, scraping the bowl as necessary, about 3 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in the vanilla extract. Reduce the mixer speed to low and gradually add the flour mixture, mixing until just combined. With a wooden spoon or large rubber spatula stir in the chocolate chips, oats, coconut and pecans.

4. Using an ice cream scoop or a cookie scoop, drop dough onto the baking sheets, spacing them about 3 inches apart. If you like having rounder and smoother looking cookies, you can roll them into balls then flatten slightly when the bottom of a glass. Brown Eyed Baker dropped 1/4 cup of dough for each cookie, but I made mine smaller. Bake until the edges are set but the middles still look light and puffy, about 12 minutes. Cool cookies on the baking sheets.


One thought on “<12 Days of Cookies – Pecan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. [...] – Pecan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies *i had a tough decision to make. i was deciding between twix, chocolate cookies and these cookies. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 413 other followers

