Peanut Butter Cups

For once, Martha Stewart didn’t fail me.

I apologize in advance to all those Martha Stewart fans out there, but I’m not a huge fan of her recipes. Maybe it’s me doing something wrong but every time I use one of her recipes, it never turns out right!

I have a huge HUGE huge addiction to Reese’s peanut butter cups. Once I have a taste, I have to keep eating them until I feel like vomiting from chocolate overdose. My cousin gave me a holiday package of these babies for christmas and I finished it in two days flat. Impressive, I know.

But even after consuming the entire package, my craving still wasn’t satisfied. The weather was pretty lousy and I didn’t feel like leaving the house so I did some googling and found this recipe. I was a bit skeptical at first since it’s a MS recipe, but I decided to give it a go.

If you’re a Reese’s peanut butter cup fan yourself, these will not disappoint! Need more convincing? These are healthier if you use natural peanut butter to avoid all that nasty hydrogenated stuff. That stuff is terrible for you.

Peanut Butter Cups
source: Martha Stewart Site

Ingredients (I halved the recipe and got over 2 dozen)

  • 2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups smooth peanut butter, preferably all natural
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 pound bittersweet or semisweet chocolate
  • 36 1 3/8-inch paper candy cups
  • How To
  • Combine sugar, peanut butter, and butter in an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Beat on medium-low speed until combined.
  • Melt chocolate in a microwave using 30 sec intervals. Use a small spoon to coat insides of the paper candy cups with the melted chocolate, making sure to cover the bottom and sides well. Transfer cups to muffin tins. Transfer to freezer until set, about 10 minutes.
  • Remove cold chocolate cups from the freezer. Spoon peanut-butter filling into each cup until three-quarters full. Spoon melted chocolate into each cup to cover. Return to the freezer until set, 15 to 25 minutes. Mine have been in the fridge since Dec 28 and they still taste good.
  • About these ads
    Tagged , ,

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 413 other followers

