Super Easy Granola Bars

I have a confession to make. I’m obsessed with granola bars and all bar-type finger foods. If I could, I would eat granola bars all day long. Naturally, when I saw this recipe on How Sweet It Is, I immediately jumped off my sofa and ran into the kitchen. These require only several basic ingredients, they’re super simple so you can jazz them up with whatever add-ins you want. I’m already thinking about what to add in the next time I make these: chocolate chips, graham cracker bits and marshmellows. MMMM s’moressssss :)

When I first took these out of the oven though, I was super disappointed. They didn’t hold a bar-like shape, they were crumbly and the texture was just all wrong, kinda soggy oatmeal that’s drying up. Yea ugh. I was about to declare these as another baking fail but then a wave of ingenious-ness hit me.

I had left half the batch unbaked because I always like to snack on unbaked dough while I bake :) I pressed this half into a pan and refrigerated them over night. The next day when I took them out, they were still really soft but at least they tasted better than the baked batch.

But still, I had a whole pan of disgusting tasting oatmeal-bar-fail-stuff. I crumbled them up and spread the crumbs on a baking sheet to make….. GRANOLA. I think they taste best this way, so addictive. I ate all of it in one sitting!

Granola Bars
adapted from How Sweet It Is

Ingredients

4 cups rolled oats
3/4 cup natural peanut butter, melted
1/2 cup honey, plus extra until perfect consistency
raisins
craisins
pecans, chopped
wanuts, chopped

*I didn’t measure add-ins, so go crazy and splurge !

How To

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

2. Combine oats, nuts, raisins and craisins in a large bowl. Add in honey and stir til everything is coated in honey. Add in peanut butter and mix until combined.

3. Add more honey/peanut butter to reach your desired stickyness.

4. Press into a pan and bake for 25 mins.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

