Savory? What the..?

Whoa! A post that’s NOT about sugar-filled, teeth-rotting desserts?!

My mind is blown too. But I had to! That’s how phenomenal these are!

It was after thanksgiving when I made these to satisfy my thanksgiving dinner cravings.

There are two things I always crave: chocolate and carbs.

I overdosed on these cookies that day and I needed something salty to balance my tastebuds out.

I’m constantly in a vicious cycle of sweet, salty, sweet and salty. Does it ever happen to you? I always have to eat something sweet after a meal, even breakfast no jokes, and I always have to have something salty after my dessert.

Anyway, since making chocolate biscuits didn’t sound so appealing to me, I decided to make cheesy cheddar biscuits!

I found this recipe on Michelle’s blog and she adapted it from THE Pioneer Woman. I love both their recipes, they never fail me!!

Update on the knee: it’s slowly healing but it really sucks cuz I’m too scared to run now :(

Cheddar Biscuits
adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
¾ teaspoon salt
4 tablespoons butter, cubed and chilled
10 tablespoons milk
1 egg
1 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

How To

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Grease a standard muffin pan and set aside.

2. Whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt. Then cut the butter into the flour mixture until combined and the mixture is crumbly. You can use a pastry cutter or two knives if you don’t that.

3. In a small bowl, whisk together the milk, oil and egg.

4. Add the milk mixture to the dry ingredients, and gently toss until the flour mixture is mostly moistened (lumps will remain). Add cheddar cheese. Mix until just combined.

5. Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin pan. Bake for 20 to 22 minutes, or until golden brown. Remove from the pan and serve warm.

Tagged

4 thoughts on “Savory? What the..?

  1. This is like what happens to me every once in a while on my blog. I’ll post a savory recipe after weeks and weeks of sweets and it just feels weird. This biscuits look delicious though! :-)

    • for a second i thought u had a doppledanger at food fitness fun! i went to both blogs and were comparing the pics for at least 5 mins just in case my eyes were tricking me LOL. thanks for comment! keep rocking on with your running and recipes, your blog(s) are fantastical

  2. Emily says:

    Oh man, these look amazing! I love cheddar biscuits.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 413 other followers

