SUN RUN!

Today was the annual Vancouver Sun Run.

number 21002, awww yeeea

I’ve been doing this for about 5 years, and I ain’t about to stop! I have this goal where I want to have a collection of t-shirts by the time I’m old and wrinkly and can no longer run. At that point I can whip out my t-shirts and start telling my grandkids how speedy I used to be and wow them with details of my running story

I woke up at 7 today and made myself a pb and banana sandwich. Can you believe I’ve never had one before this year? I was totally missing out on life. Why did I do such a foolish thing?! they taste PHENOMENAL! The pb really compliments the banana flavour, and I like to toast my bread for an extra crunch. PB and banana is total runner’s food, pb for protein, bananas to prevent cramps, and whole wheat toast for carbs. I think I might run more just so I can eat that :)

this is what runners eat

Waiting for the bus this morning to head to the race scene was cold! And I forgot how slow sunday buses were so I just stood there waiting for a REALLY long time. Luckily one of my running buddies drove by with his grandpa and gave me a ride. Friends are awesome, especially when they have really nice grandpas too.

I expected it to be cold at the race scene but today was a whole new level of cold. I was wearing two layers but my teeth were still chattering and my legs couldn’t stop shaking.

I always get really nervous before a run. I know this wasn’t a race or anything, but I don’t like letting myself off the hook easily. I like challenging myself. Since finals were in the way, I couldn’t train as much as I wanted to. The last time I ran before today was last last thursday! I like running, but I’m the laziest runner ahaha.

My time was year was 53 mins, which isn’t great but it was my best time. The goal this year is to beat that record, but since I’m carrying an extra 20 lbs and I didn’t train, I felt doubtful about myself.

I think my running buddies heard me say “I’M NERVOUS I’M GONNA DIE!” about 20 times in the 40 mins that I was with them. I like to express myself. A lot.

Meet the blond and willma, my on call running peeps

When it started, all my nervousness went away and turned into pure glee. I was so excited and happy! Something about running with 50,000 people that just gives me an extra boost to my runner’s high. Also there was so much action going on throughout the entire route. Bands were playing to keep you running upbeat, strangers were cheering and giving high fives to everyone, and cute little elementary school kids were handing out water. All that stuff kept me going, I never realized how encouraging a strangers cheers could be. Yenno which high fives are the best? Ones from complete strangers.

To entertain myself even more, I read the back of people’s shirts. The sun run allows you to print a really short one liner on the back of your shirt. Most of the time though, people just put the name of their school, team, or corporation. Whenever I saw a Tupper Tiger (my high school), I would feel so proud!!

rainbow balloons mark the spot !

While it’s great running with so many people, it can get really really crowded and it frustrates you when people are in your way. I found myself cursing in my head at people were hogging the road because they were slow. I can get really aggressive.

At 5 km I was feeling really tired. I think they strategically placed a gigantic hill there to tire me out. But I kept going, I wasn’t about to let myself stop. Then at 9km, I was feeling on top of the world! I wasn’t tired at all, I wanted to keep going for another 10km, seriously, I felt SOOOO GOOOOD.

There’s a running threshold that you have to get over before you can feel invincible and the running is easy as pie. I guess I’ve found mine. For you chemists out there, I kinda relate it to an action potential for a reaction. lolol I’m such a nerd.

The second best part about the sun run after the running is the FOOD that they give you at the end. Bagels, power bars, oranges, bananas, juice, chocolate milk. I always hoard a lot of it and take it home with me. I have no shame :)

Here’s the loot!

check out the loot!

2 banana halves, 3 flavours of juice, 8 bagels and a power bar! That’s not even including what I already ate LOL

You have no idea how hard it was for me to not eat that power bar. It took all my willpower and then some. I told myself I had to take a picture of it at home before I can tear the wrapper and enjoy it’s “peanut butter caramel crispness”

gotta build them muscles!

So that was the beginning of my sunday, I hope you guys have a nice day !

Tagged ,

One thought on “SUN RUN!

  1. […] Its the Cookie Monster! Sun Run! I’ve been doing this for about 5 years, and I ain’t about to stop! I have this goal where I want to have a collection of t-shirts by the time I’m old and wrinkly and can no longer run… […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

