Can you say lemon crea…

a gazillion pies?

nope just some tarts!

mmm tarts

lemon creamm tartss

Can you say “lemon cream tarts!” ?

I can. But I couldn’t finish the whole phrase. I made 24 of these babies and 18 of them disappeared in 5 mins. I have never seen my siblings eat anything that I made so fast, well maybe except for these. Usually my creations sit out on the kitchen table untouched for dayssssss. 

My brother didn’t even bite these into smaller pieces, he just shoved tarts by the whole into his mouth one after the other. I think he ate like 8 of these in those 5 minutes. The thing I learned about eating with my brother is that when it comes to his favourite foods (anything lemon flavoured) you better eat fast, or you don’t eat at all. Good thing I snagged a couple of tarts before he came home from school ;)

Even my sister was in love with these, which was a total shocker to me. She is not a dessert fan (I can’t believe she’s related to me either). Given a choice of chocolate cake or pizza, she would pick pizza every time.

These tarts are super easy to make if you had the cream ready like I did. I used the leftover cream from these tarts that I posted about before. I did use a different tart dough though because the last one didn’t really work out for me. Unlike last time where the dough was tough and dry, this one was pliable, soft and buttery. To finish it all off, I drizzled some chocolate on top. I always have to have chocolate in my desserts :)

OMNOMNOMNOM

Mini Lemon Cream Tarts

Ingredients

For the tart: 
1 1/2 c flour
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 c room temp butter
1/4 c sugar
1 egg
1 batch of Lemon Cream (recipe and instructions here)

White chocolate disks for the drizzle

How To For the Tart

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. 

1. Beat the butter until softened 

2. Add sugar, then beat til light and fluffy

3. Whisk the egg a little just to beat it up, then add it into the batter just until incorporated

4. Whisk the flour and salt together and add it ALL at once to the butter mixture. Mix until it forms into a dough ball.

5. Flatten the ball into a disk, wrap with plastic wrap, then refridgerate for 15-30 mins.

6. When cold and more firm, but not completely solid, press the dough into your mini muffin pan and bake for about 15 mins or until the edges are lightly browned. (Adjust time as needed if using another type of pan)

White Chocolate Drizzle: place some white chocolate into a wilton candy decorating bag or a ziplock bag. Twist the bag and tie it with a rubber band to secure the chocolate in one corner. Microwave the bag using 30sec intervals, making sure to massage the bag after each interval to ensure even melting until the chocolate is all melted. Snip a tiny part of the corner off then drizzle away!

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Can you say lemon crea…

  1. Julia says:

    Those look so delicious! I’m practically drooling over my keyboard right now.
    Haha and that’s exactly how my brother eats too… he just fits as much food in his mouth as possible. It’s not a pretty site.
    And yay we finished! I’m super excited for summer!

  2. Brittany says:

    Yuuuuuum. These looks refreshing and sweet all at the same time..perfect summer treat!

  3. cakebrain says:

    Geez! these look amazing! what I love about lemon is you want to keep eating and eating…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 413 other followers

