Please sir, can I have s’more?

Hey guys! I have something to announce first, then we can continue talking bout food :)

I finally made a fan page on Facebook for this blog! And I would love it if you could support me by liking it :D

Here’s the link.

Let me know if you have a fanpage on Facebook too! 

Alright, now back to the food!

I’m always craving things that are out of season.

In the winter I want apple pie and lemon bars.

In the fall I want gingerbread cookies.

You get the idea.

Today was one of those days.

What triggered this weird craving? Well my friends suggested we should go camping this summer and when I think of camping I think of warm fires and roasted marshmallows. And when I think of roasted marshmallows I think of s’moress… :)

Wait, on second thought, maybe smores is a summer treat. Whoops, I think another thousand of these should fix my brain.

s'moresss

nothing like homemade graham crackers

i took these pics right when they came outta the oven, kinda burnt myself


Homemade Graham Crackers

Ingredients

2 cups of whole wheat flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 large egg
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup honey
2 to 3 tablespoons milk (I used 2 tbsps)
additional milk for glaze

How To

1. Whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.

2. In a separate bowl, beat egg till light, then add oil, honey and 2 tablespoons milk. Stir into dry ingredients until you have a fairly stiff dough, adding additional milk if necessary. Wrap dough in waxed paper and chill until firm, about 1 hour.

3. Turn the dough onto a floured surface and knead gently until it holds together. Roll dough out till it’s about 1/16-inch thick; make sure rolling surface is well-floured, or you’ll have trouble transferring crackers to baking sheet.

4. Preheat your oven to 375°F.

5. Cut dough into 3-inch squares, prick each square several times with a fork, and place on lightly greased cookie sheets. Brush the tops with milk and bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until crackers are lightly browned.

6. Remove crackers from oven, transfer to a wire cooling rack, and cool completely.

Tagged

20 thoughts on “Please sir, can I have s’more?

  1. Alexandra says:

    homemade graham crackers?!?! YOU ARE GENIUS. :D

  2. This sounds AMAZING. seriously I am trying these today!!

  3. homemade graham crackers. YES PLEASE. and i definitely liked you on facebook so I can see your updates more regularly! wooo.

  4. Liked it! And homemade graham crackers is genius. You’re inspiring me because I made homemade marshmellows a few years ago….hmm ideas forming.

  5. Cait's Plate says:

    Oh my gosh – this post could not have come at a better time! I was JUST thinking how badly I want to make my own graham crackers! I’m so happy you posted this and can’t wait to try them!

  6. Valerie says:

    Oh, these graham crackers look scrumptious smothering that s’more!! :-) So much better than store-bought versions. :-)

  7. Cakebrain says:

    Ooh. My. Ambitious making graham crackers! I have never made them myself because I generally like instant gratification (esp. for cheesecake making!). Kudos for you for making it from scratch!

  8. kalyrical says:

    WOWOWOW. I wanted to make smores =( Cept you know..i’d probably skip out on the making my own graham crackers part as I doubt I can actually make it edible.

  9. Sara K says:

    I LOVEEEEEEEEEE graham crackers! Especially on the bottom of cheesecake :D

  10. Good on you for making your own graham crackers! I tried it once but they didn’t quite turn out as well as I’d hoped (partially my fault for letting them go a minute too long they were mighty brown ;p). These s’mores look fantastic!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 415 other followers

