Speaking Our Minds and A Giveaway!! *giveaway now closed*

this is what i'm giving away! (image stolen from lululemon)


At work today, the weirdest thing happened.

I was walking back to the hostess desk and there was a lady standing there grabbing a thank-you mint before heading out. She was an older lady, probably around the age of 60 and she was wearing a pair of ray ban glasses along with a pair of black converses. Best dressed old lady ever.

When I got to the desk I thanked her for coming and wished her a lovely day.

This is when the weird thing happened.

After I said that, she just looked at me. It wasn’t a rude stare or anything. It was more of a blank stare like she was trying to figure out something. 

So I asked: “Can I help you with anything?”

She said something along the lines of this, “No, I just wanted to tell you that you look very nice today. It is pleasant to look at you”

I didn’t really know what to say because I was not expecting a comment like that, but I was flattered. I don’t deal well with compliments. Was it even a compliment? Then it finally hit me that I should say something back, I was kinda winded by the weird comment lolol. 

I said, “Awww, why thank you. I don’t hear that often, actually I never hear that ahaha. You just made my day!”

Then she said, ” Well I just thought you should know that. We should all share our positive thoughts more often. I’m sure other people think that too when they walk in here but they just don’t tell you that.”

I said, “I agree, everyone should speak their minds more often, if it’s positive!”

She said, “I know right! Well, bye now and have a nice day.”

I said, “You too, try to stay dry out there.” 

The door closed behind her and let in a cool breeze. I gushed warmly at my desk and replayed the comment in my head once more.

Today I want to tell you guys what has been on my mind too. 

I think you’re all awesome for doing what you do. Whether it is trying out a new workout, following a vegan diet (which I could never do!), dealing with lactose-intolerance or diabetes or just holding back on dessert for one night, I think you all deserve a pat on the back and a high five for that :)

I also want to thank all of you for supporting my blog and being such dedicated readers :’) you have no idea how much it means to me.

I finally decided what to give away for my first giveaway!!! It took me ages cuz I suck at buying gifts for people. 

Since most of you are always active and on the go, I decided to give away lululemon headbands!!! 

I know, I know, it’s not the coolest gift ever but I couldn’t think of anything better that won’t break my wallet =/ Hostesses/cruise agents don’t make a lotta moolah :( But it’s my favouritest brand ever (half my wardrobe is from this place) cuz their stuff is high quality and dependable.

image stolen from lululemon

image stolen from lululemon


I’m giving away two of these headbands! It took me a long time to decide, but I arranged all the styles based on cute factor and these won me over with the braided style. Keep your hair away from your face while you’re on the go and look cute at the same time! One is exactly like the one in the pictures and the other one is homogenously lavender.

All you gotta do to now is leave a comment answering this question: 

“What’s the nicest comment that a stranger ever gave you?” or “What is the nicest comment you ever gave to a stranger?”

To get extra an chance at winning, become a fan of my page on Facebook

If you’re doing the Facebook thing as well, make sure you tell me in your comment so I can count that extra ballot for you! If you are already a fan, make sure you tell me that too :)

Giveaway will close Thursday night at 9pm pacific time. Winners will be announced Friday !

Tagged ,

23 thoughts on “Speaking Our Minds and A Giveaway!! *giveaway now closed*

  1. kristina daniels says:

    Well i took this as a compliment because i love drew barreymore, but i was told by a complete stranger at a gas station that i look like drew barreymore!

  2. Alexandra says:

    What a cool encounter at work! I love it when that happens :) Awesome headband too!
    The nicest compliment I ever received from a stranger was from one of my professors when I was a freshman– he told me on the first day that he could tell I was a dedicated student, eager to learn and he appreciated my optimism. It really can boost your spirits! :)

  3. Laura says:

    Awww, what a sweet old lady! I think the best compiments are from complete strangers.
    One day a nice woman said I was the prettiest girl she’s ever seen.
    Made my day :)
    LOVE the headband, hope I win!

  4. Cindy A. says:

    Thank you so much for offering such a great giveaway! :)

    The nicest comment I ever received from a stranger was from a customer in a boutique where I worked. She complimented me on my “fashion sense” and asked if I would help her find a new outfit. From that day on she only shopped while I was working and always asked my opinion before making her final decision.

  5. Cindy A. says:

    I “like” you on Facebook – Cindy A.

  6. Awww! She seems nice. But you are pretty, so I’m not surprised!

  7. This is such a great post! One of my favorite compliments is that I look like Amanda Seyfried because I think she is gorgeous (and I’ve been told that by different people which makes me happy!).
    Thanks for letting me know about this giveaway!:)

  8. Brittany says:

    That lady is awesome!! I love people like her. My favorite comments at work are from the older folks. They don’t seem to be very shy. Twice now from two elderly people I have gotten similar compliments going something like this: “Brittany, what a pretty name for such a pretty face.” Simple, yet sweet.

    I constantly comment on peoples apparel or hairstyles telling them they are rockin it today. I WANT ONE of these head bands sososo bad, awesome giveaway!

    • YAY im glad you like the headband, and i really hope you win one!

      older ppl tend to not censor themselves when they talk and i love that! the things they say sometimes are so cute! blunt, but cute :P

      brittany, seriously you have one of the most gorgeous and interesting faces and im not just saying that to be nice :)

  9. pbbrittany says:

    Aw! That was so sweet. I wish more people spoke their mind, when it’s positive! It can really make someones day.
    I think the nicest thing somebody has ever said to me is “Brittany, when you walk into a room, it just lights up. Your happiness is contagious- you’re like a firework” (I almost started crying when they told me this!)

  10. Tiff says:

    Coooool! (I’m referring to both the comment and the headband!) I wish I could answer your questions, but I can’t think of anything at the moment. It’s totally my bed time, and I’m sleeeepy! I think the best compliment I’ve given is telling my hubby he’s the best hubby I could hope for, and I like it when he compliments my cooking. Best ever? Maybe not, but still good!

  11. Cakebrain says:

    What great taste in headbands! Way cool! I think compliments have to be grounded in truth and don’t offer words that don’t ring true in my heart.
    The best compliment I gave was to my colleague who couldn’t dye her hair anymore because of allergies. I told her that her almost completely greyed head was stunning. I meant it. Her hair was silver and she looked fantastic.

    • i hate it when ppl give you a compliment just because they have nothing else to say, it’s so not genuine. oh that reminds me of a coworker, her hair is silver too and she has it in a kind of a pixie cut, its so nice!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 347 other followers

