I miss you too

Hi guys, I’m back!

First off, I just wanted to say that I miss you guys lots too!! Tiff, your comment: “We miss you!” was the most heartwarming comment ever!! I think that’s what every blogger loves to hear from their readers. And i hate to admit this (cuz I don’t like to cry), but I teared up a little when I read that. =’)

How is everyone doing? What’s going on in your life? How was your halloween? It’s been so long since I last posted OMG. I’m so sorry :(

The past couple months have been tough, but enjoyable. I’m definitely liking second year more than first year :) I transferred faculties so now I’m in Land and Food Systems. Can you guess what we study? It’s a no brainer :P It sounds like a dumb faculty but you learn the most interesting things ever! I’m taking a course right now and it’s about land and animal ethics, how we acquire knowledge, and the relationship between people, animals and land. It’s so refreshing every time I walk into that class knowing that I’ll learn something I can take with me for life. I think the thing that makes my faculty different from the others is that it teaches us to be more aware and well-rounded people. 

I can’t put how I feel into words, but I feel so at home in LFS. Last year was rough for me because I didn’t have any goals and Ididn’t feel like I belonged to my university. But I have finally found my niche :)

Over the past two months, I have learnt a lot about myself. 

I’ve learnt that:
- I suck at dealing with stress
- I suck at keeping in touch with people
- I suck at time management
- I get overwhelmed easily
- I freak out about everythingggg 

Yeah. They’re not good qualities. I guess you can throw in ‘pessimistic’ in that list too.

BUT, I have learnt how to deal with those problems too.  

I realized that learning about yourself really takes courage. It takes courage to reflect and find what you may or not be hiding from yourself.  Have you ever done that? Have you ever hidden something from yourself so that you would never have to face it and deal with it? I have. 

I used to keep a diary that I wrote in pretty regularly. I used to write about everything in there! Things that I wouldn’t even tell my sister or best friend. But, somewhere in the last two years I’ve stopped writing completely. I think I got to the point where I didn’t want to think about my problems anymore. I stopped writing so I didn’t have to think about them. I just shoved them into way back into my mind and left them there. 

But I’m back on track now! I’m still censoring some of my thoughts and feelings but hopefully I start writing freely again :) I find that it’s the best way to cope with stress for me. Throughout those 2 years that I stopped writing, I coped with stress by eating. Doing that got me nowhere (except 15 lbs heavier). 

Anyway, I want to end the heavy talk now. I just wanted to share my new-found love for my studies, my school and most importantly for myself. 

 

 

3 thoughts on “I miss you too

  1. I’m so excited your back!! and dealing with stress is not exactly one of my talents. I may or may not be freaking about my terrible grades this whole week.
    Speaking of comments, YOU are so sweet! I’m inspired to start writing again soon (at the very least it would be a more productive procrastination than watching hours of Revenge haha).

  2. Alexandra says:

    Yay you’re back!!!
    Dude I suck at dealing with stress too, I’m wigging out about a chem test I had yesterday that I think I failed. Oh well, you win some you lose some i guess. I’m so happy to hear you’ve found a new love of yourself! That’s awesome girl! :)

  3. Laura says:

    I was going to be in LFS at ubc this year, but ended up choosing another uni for science.
    Glad you like it! Miss you. I lack the ability to cope with stress at times, and get overwhelmed waaay to easily.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 345 other followers

