How Do You Handle Compliments?

I have a question for you guys today:

How do you handle compliments?

You’re probably thinking: aren’t compliments good things? Why are you making them sound like a pain in the derriere?

My problem with compliments is that I don’t know how to REACT to them.

Usually, I do the awkward smile:

20120307-233615.jpg

or the: Nawwww, whatchu talkin’ bout?

20120307-233830.jpg

and sometimes I just completely ignore it:

20120307-233948.jpg

If I say “thank you”, it means that I agree with the compliment, but most of the time, I don’t.

It’s not that I don’t believe others are telling me the truth. I just have really high standards for myself (and compliments make me feel reallyuncomfortable).

I thought that I am being super modest by not accepting and even refusing compliments. But one of my friends told me I borderline between bitchy and modest whenever I do that. It really irks him.

So what do you guys think? Am I being modest or arrogant? and how do you react to compliments?

Tagged

8 thoughts on “How Do You Handle Compliments?

  1. Alexandra says:

    I don’t think it’s arrogant at all! Girl I’m the same way as you, usually I just say thank you and sit there feeling oober awkward like “should I compliment them back?” Haha

  2. Starr says:

    I’m doubtful that you come off as arrogant, and I’d bet you that most people have difficulty accepting compliments. Society teaches us that humility is a virtue, but at some point shouldn’t we be aloud to give ourselves a well deserved pat on the back? I wish I knew what the balance was… And if, for some reason, you are coming off as arrogant, well, at least you’re not coming off as crazy. Forget the awkward smile, I’ve been known to turn bright red and run away :-)

  3. Brittany says:

    Sometimes I can be the same way, compliments are hard when you don’t agree or believe them. I try to give an awkward smile or brush it off..but I do need to work on just accepting the compliment. I know that when I give a compliment and someone replies with, “nooo you are just being nice” I get annoyed..I want to shake them and say “ACCEPT my compliment!” but I do the same thing so I can’t!!

  4. kyleen says:

    LMFAO at the whatchutalkin about face. I do that all the time. It’s so hard to accept the compliment graciously without seeming totally full or yourself. I always blush when people compliment me, and then say thank you, and hope that my face isn’t too red.

  5. Haha I had to return to comment on this post because I saw this on facebook, and it totally reminded me of how I act.

    http://whatshouldwecallme.tumblr.com/post/19954760158/when-a-guy-gives-you-a-compliment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 415 other followers

