Devils Food Cupcakes with Fudge Frosting

.

I now understand why these cupcakes are named “Devil’s Food”.  They’re sinfully delicious. 

.

.

Jeanette and Ellis (the awesome peeps who showered me with lotsa chocolate the other week) had their birthdays at the end of this month, so of course I wanted to celebrate with them. But a birthday celebration is never complete without cake!

I made Jeanette a vanilla cake filled with caramel pastry cream and smothered in vanilla buttercream. Um, I think you’re drooling, you should probably get a napkin. I will post pictures and the recipe later on! ( I know, I’m such a tease ;) )

.

.

.

For Ellis, I made these devil’s food cupcakes. Originally, I wanted to make a layered cake for him as well, but I figured that cupcakes would be easier to eat and share at work. 

I got the recipe from Anna Olsen! She is one of my baking idols! Recently, I’m hooked on her new show “Bake with Anna Olsen” on the Food Network. Every time the show goes on on Thursday (my new favourite day of the week), I get so absorbed that I find myself talking to Anna.

“Anna! Why are we making vanilla cake? Chocolate is so much better!”

“Anna what are you doing?!?!?!? You just threw 3 bricks of butter into the bowl! You’re not helping my waistline!”

“Anna, how do you keep your counters so clean when you bake?!”

“Anna, can we trade kitchens please? Yours has 2 kitchen aid mixers and mines has none.”

Oh, don’t tell me that you never talk to your idol on TV :P

.

.

Devil’s Food Cake

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup cake and pastry flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt 
1 1/3 cup superfine sugar (I just used regular granulated sugar)
1/2 cup cool butter
1/2 cup milk (I suggest at least 1% milk)
1/2 cup strong hot coffee
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs

How To

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

1.  Sift together flour, cocoa, baking soda, salt, sugar in bowl of mixer.

2. Add butter to flour mixture and blend until you get a fine crumb where the pieces of butter are evenly dispersed throughout the flour. (mixture should still be dry)

3. Combine together milk, coffee, vanilla. Slowly add to flour+butter mixture. 

4. In a small bowl, whisk 2 eggs and add it to the batter. 

5. Grease or line muffin tins and pour batter into pan. Bake for approx 18-20 mins. 

Source: Bake with Anna Olsen

Tagged , , ,

18 thoughts on “Devils Food Cupcakes with Fudge Frosting

  1. Cupcakes, my favorite! These looks so yummy! Your photography is awesome, too!

    I love your blog, definitely going to like it on Facebook and follow.

    I recently started a baking/cooking blog and would love for you to subscribe! Making new bloggie friends always makes me :)

    http://sugarlyeverafter.blogspot.com/

  2. Cupcakes, my favorite! These looks so yummy! Your photography is awesome, too!

    I love your blog, definitely going to like it on Facebook and follow.

    I recently started a baking/cooking blog and would love for you to subscribe! Making new bloggie friends always makes me :)

  3. thenewviewnl says:

    Wauw that looks so delicious!!

  4. caloricandcrazy says:

    I love how they look like chocolate roses! :)

  5. cookingactress says:

    I love your conversation with Anna! Lol and these cupcakes do look sinfully delicious! I love the way you did the frosting, that’s how I do mine too (but less pretty because I do it with a ziplock bag and no piping point lol)! And now I’m super excited to see the ones filled with pastry cream!

  6. Brittany says:

    Omg I need these, the frosting swirls look PERFECT!! YUM!

  7. Wow, these look absolutely sinful! And great job on the rosette piping! It looks flawless.

  8. So so pretty swirls! Yummy!

  9. The cupcakes sound delicious but they look good too, you definitely have some good frosting pipping skills!

  10. These look so professional and delicioius :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  11. abitterdays says:

    i LOVE the way you did the frosting!
    looks like a rose =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 347 other followers

