Miniature Tarts

deeee-lish

look at how cute they are!
Dorie’s Berry Tart

Dorie's berry tart

mmmmmm

Sorry for the delay folks! I’ve been super duper busy lately. So busy that right now, I should be studying for my upcoming midterm. But after weighing the importance of blogging and studying, blogging won over 🙂

I made these tarts for the two dinner parties I went to last week. I already posted about one of the dinners, read about it here if you missed it !

I also made a triple chocolate mousse cake. Sigh, I had such high hopes for that one. It didn’t turn out well at all. The middle layer just wouldn’t soldify! So the bottom and top layer had the mousse texture and they held their shape, but the middle white chocolate layer wasn’t cooperating attt allllll. In the end I just decided to put it into the freezer. So that worked in soldifying all the layers, but the whole cake turned so hard it became ice cream =.= Maybe I should just call it an ice cream cake instead of the mousse cake that failed.

Why is it that whenever I bake, something has to go wrong?! I honestly should rethink this whole “being a baker” thing.

Not only did the mousse cake go wrong, but the tart dough didn’t turn out fantastical either. It was too dry when I was making it and after I baked it it was super hard. Maybe I mixed it too much.

Alright, let’s not talk about my kitchen failures anymore.

Something did go well though, EXTREMELY well! The lemon cream. OH. MY. GOODNESS.

IT WAS FREAKING ORGASMIC! Seriously it was sooo goood. I followed the directions to a t and got the creamiest and lemoniest french lemon cream ever!!! Best part: I had 3/4 of the cream leftover so I just spooned it straight into my mouth to recuperate from the failed mousse cake.

The tart dough gave me exactly 24 mini tarts and the 1/4 of the cream was enough for all the tarts. This may vary for you.

If you’re ever heading to a fancy dinner and need to make  dessert that will rock everyone’s socks off, make these! They’re appealing to the eyes, and if done correctly, they’re also super delectable 🙂

For the recipe and detailed instructions, head on over to Two Peas and Their Pod.

Tagged , ,

9 thoughts on “Miniature Tarts

  1. Tiff says:

    Yay for lemon cream!

  2. Sorry your mousse cake didnt turn out perfect, but ice cream cake is delicious too 🙂
    And these babies looks amazing! So fancy, great for dinner parties as you say!! Love your photos too 🙂

  3. oooh i love lemony flavoured things! yum! those little tarts look great!

  4. Julia says:

    I just found your blog, and I’ve been drooling over the keyboard. All these recipes look so good!
    I just finished my freshmen year of college and when I saw that you’re a freshmen too I got reallly excited!
    Just wanted to say hi:)

  5. Sara K says:

    Those tarts are ADORABLE! When I used to work at a French Bakery we had some like that! Your baking really inspires me to want to take up learning how to bake!

  6. YUM x 100!!!! So cute!

    New to your blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  7. […] tarts are super easy to make if you had the cream ready like I did. I used the leftover cream from these tarts that I posted about before. I did use a different tart dough though because the last one […]

Leave a Reply

