Strawberry Lemon Beignets

 

 

Beignet – n – [been-yay]
1. pillowy, doughy goodness with a crispy exterior. especially good when drizzled with strawberry sauce. 
2. a type of food that teenage brothers eat, I mean INHALE, in under 30.58 seconds.

My brother has been asking me to make him his favourite donuts for about a couple years now (ever since I first made them back in 2010). See normally I love it when any of my siblings ask me to make dessert for them, the opportunity doesn’t present itself very often since they’re both savoury people. Freaks. 😛

If my bro had asked me to make a cake or cookies, then SURE I would’ve jumped on that immediately because those things are easy to make. But nooo, he wants donuts. Do you know how long it takes to make donuts?! The first time I made them took me about 6 hours. Not funnn. Plus, I just don’t have the patience to wait for yeast dough to rise.

As a substitute I decided to make my brother some beignets instead. No yeast, no rising time, no fuss. 😀

I’ve actually never tried a beignet before, so I didn’t know what to expect in terms of the taste and texture. They turned out really nicely with a fluffy interior and slighty crisp outer shell. They were kind of like donuts but much less dense. Even my mom liked them and she’s always been my biggest critic!! I thought that the beignets themselves were a little bland, next time I’ll definitely make sure to double the lemon zest. So to boost up the flavour, I made a lemon strawberry sauce for dipping. The sauce was soooo good that I wanted to drink all of it! 

This recipe made about 2 dozen donuts but I only got to eat 3 of them. My brother ate the rest. In under 3 mins. He inhales anything and everything that is lemon and strawberry flavoured. Next time I’ll be sure to keep a secret stash under my bed 😉

Lemon Beignets

Ingredients

1 cup water
1/2 cup (113 grams) unsalted butter
1/4 teaspoon (1 gram) salt
1/2 tsp (4 grams) sugar
1 cup (125 grams) all-purpose flour
Zest of one lemon (I suggest 2 lemons)
4 large eggs
Quart vegetable oil, for frying
Powdered sugar, for dusting

1. In a small saucepan, combine the water, butter, and sugar. Bring to a boil, stirring until the butter is completely melted. Remove from heat, add the flour, salt, and lemon zest and stir until combined. Place over medium heat and stir until dough becomes slightly dry and leaves a film on the bottom of the pan.

2. Scoop the dough into the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment and let cool for 5-7 minutes. Beat the mixture on low speed, allowing it to cool some more, for a few minutes. Add the eggs one at a time, beating after each addition. Let the dough rest for 1 hour. (I skipped the resting step)

3. Pour the oil into a heavy bottomed saucepan and heat over medium high heat to 365 degrees F. (Do not need to measure temperature of oil, I fried mine in medium-low heat) Fry the beignets by the tablespoon a few at a time. Cook them until golden and puffed.

4. Remove the beignets and let drain on paper towels. Sprinkle with powdered sugar and serve immediately.

Strawberry Lemon Sauce

note: no measurements, I just made the sauce to my liking. You can add as many strawberries and as much sugar as you like.

Strawberries
juice from 1/2 lemon
Sugar 
Warm water 

1. Stir warm water and sugar together til sugar is melted.

2. Wash and chop strawberries. Place strawberries in a blender to make a puree. 

3. Strain the puree to remove seeds and pulp.

4. Stir strawberry puree and sugar water together.

5. Add lemon juice to the mixture. This is my favourite part! The acid of the lemon juice intensifies the red colour of the strawberries, turning it from a deep pinkish red to a bright orangey-red.

6. Drizzle over beignets and reserve some for dipping.

Source: Beignets from Completely Delicious

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Lemon Beignets

  1. Brittany says:

    Ohhh my drool. These are adorable, and look delicious!

  2. Erin says:

    I love beignets! These look incredible.

    *Erin

Leave a Reply

