Born to Run

born to run

Move on over “In Defense of Food”, there is a nice favourite book in town.

To all you runners out there, I really really hope that at least one of you can resonate with me and how I feel about running.

I started reading a book called “Born to Run” in September and I couldn’t put it down. But I had to because it was such a good book that I did not want it to end. I tried my best to drag it out, but I eventually finished it. When I arrived at the last page, I was sad that it had to end, but I also felt motivated and enlightened. 

If you are also passionate about running, I really recommend that you read this book. It’s a story about running history, culture and physiology. It was riveting, insightful and just wonderful. 

The book captured all my feelings about running and put them into words, something that I have never been able to do. Every time someone asks me how my run went, all I can manage to say is: It was amazing. The word “amazing” doesn’t do it justice, it barely expresses even just one element of running.

Because I’m not a writer, I am going to borrow Christopher McDougall’s words and share with you some of my favourite quotes from the book. 

…running is rooted in our collective imagination, and our imagination is rooted in running. Language, art, science; space shuttles, Starry Night, intravascular surgery; they all have their roots in our ability to run. Running was the superpower that made us human – which means it’s a superpower all humans possess. 

There’s something really weird about us humans; we’re not only really good at endurance running, we’re really good at it for a remarkably long time. We’re a machine built to run – and the machine never wears out. 

Just move your legs. Because if you don’t think you were born to run, you’re not only denying history. You’re denying who you are. 

The reason we race isn’t so much to beat each other, he understood, but to be with each other.

The Hopis consider running a form of prayer; they offer every step as a sacrifice to a loved one, and in return as the Great Spirit to match their strength with some of his own.

 The Tarahumara drew strength from this…, this connection between compassion and competition.

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Born to Run

  1. Brittany says:

    I need to read this book. It sounds amazing, and I love those quotes!

  2. kale says:

    i resonate with WISHING i was a runner…. does that count?
    nah, i suppose it doesn’t.
    but hey, i’m allowed to so stand on the sidelines and cheer you on, right? go cookie monster go! 😉

Leave a Reply

