The Sunshine Award

sunshineaward

Holymoly! Did someone just give me an award?!?! What? But I write less than 30 posts a year….. Whoops you weren’t supposed to know that. 

Karen, the master writer from Sitting at the Crossroads and my other half in our thebomb.com duo, forwarded this award to me. I’m not gonna lie, I was pretty surprised when Karen told me this in the comments section. I’ve been such a lazy blogger that I feel undeserving of  any awards! I’m glad she thinks that my blog “positively and creatively inspires others in the blogosphere.” 

Thanks Karen! This is the perfect pre-3rd blogiversary gift 🙂

There are two parts to this award, the first involves me answering a personal survey! I just realized that I’ve never done one of these before. I feel like I’m breaking down walls and letting you guys get to know me better. Hope you’ll enjoy this!

1. Who is your favourite philosopher?

Hmm, I actually don’t have one. But if I had to choose, I would pick Lao Tzu, because there was a unit about him every year for the 10 years that I attended Chinese school. I especially love this quote by him: The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step.

I’m a really impatient person. I always want to reach  my goals in the shortest amount of time possible. Other times, I just get really overwhelmed by what’s to come and I feel like no amount of planning will help to prepare me. At times like that, this quote reminds me to just take it slow and breatheee.

2. What is your favourite number?

Ahaha, you’re going to laugh at how I chose my favourite number. My favourite number is 5… because it’s in the middle of 1 and 10. That’s all. 

3. What is your favourite animal?

Animals scare me. Maybe this phobia traces back to my childhood when I used to get chased by dogs A LOT. I would be happily riding on my bad-ass bike (it had flames painted on the side) then all of a sudden I would hear the sound of jangling chains. I was always so scared that I would jump off my bike and book it home to hide behind my fence. Sometimes I would barely make it past the gate with the dogs less than a meter behind me. Now that I think of it, why did I think I would be faster on foot than on my bike? 

If I have to choose, I would say wombats are my favourite animal. I’ve never met them and they’ve never chased after me, we’re on good terms.

4. What are your Facebook and Twitter?

I don’t have twitter because I think that it is the dumbest thing in the world. I do, however, have facebook. Check out the side bar on the right! 😀

5. What is your favourite time of day?

Golden hour. I guess this only really applies to days when the sun is out (which is a rare occasion in Vancouver). I love golden hour because the sky takes on so many different looks at this time, no golden hour is ever the same. Sometimes the sky is set ablaze with deep oranges and red. Sometimes it’s softer; shades of yellow that subtly blend into orange.  

6. What is your favourite holiday?

Christmas! I’m a sucker for Christmas jams, dorky holiday sweaters, silver bells, reindeers, the idea of Santa Claus (sorry if any kids are reading this), and hot chocolate.

7. What is your favourite physical activity?

Running. Enough said.

8. What is your favourite non-alcoholic drink?

Water 🙂 I don’t like alcohol at all.

9. What is your favourite flower?

Never been one to like flowers. I would much rather receive chocolates. Do chocolate flowers count?

10. What is your passion?

I have 2 passions, and they’re completely opposite of each other. 1 Nutrition and learning about it’s relation to the body. 2 baking sugar and chocolate laden desserts.

I’m sure many of you already saw that coming 😛

Here comes the hard part. For the second part of this award, I have to pick 5 blogs to pass this award to. There are so many good blogs out there, but here are my top 5 and the blogs that I read regularly. In no particular order: 

1. http://blissfulbritt.com/

2. http://cookingactress.blogspot.ca/

3. http://cakeonthebrain.blogspot.ca/

4. http://www.tastes-good-to-me.com/

5. http://mushaboomm.blogspot.ca/

Have a great Easter weekend everyone! 

Tagged

9 thoughts on “The Sunshine Award

  1. Brittany says:

    You are awesome which means YES you got this award and THANK you for passing it to me!! I participated in this award back in October, you can see my answers here:

    http://blissfulbritt.com/2012/10/13/sunshine-in-the-fall/

  2. Awww thanks so much girly!!! I love your blog too and reading all the answers to the questions!

  3. Cakebrain says:

    hey you! You are a ray of sunshine. Thanks for thinking of me and my blog! It couldn’t have come at a better time. As you know, it’s been a long spring break with wonderful sunshine and all that esp for the last few days…but I’m miserably sick and stuck at home all congested. feeling sorry for myself. life sux. you get the drift. bleh.
    Anyway, you rock! neat knowing more about you too!

  4. kale says:

    thanks for the kind shout out, girl!!
    i was totally thinking, ‘wait, so she jumped OFF her bike…?’ lol but hey it made sense at the time and you got behind your fence just the same so it’s all good. 😉
    thanks for sharing some gems about you. xo

  5. Patty says:

    CONGRATS! You should get the sunshine award because your blog always makes me smile! I would actually not have guessed that you post 30 a year? Maybe it’s because you make them count! I need to work on that, I’ve been kind of MIA. I’m so happy I made the list! You’re too sweet.

    Have an awesome day Connie!

Leave a Reply

